What was your first programming language?

• ALGOL
  • BASIC
  • C
  • C++
  • C#
  • Fortran
  • Go
  • Haskell
  • Java
  • JavaScript
  • MATLAB
  • Perl
  • PHP
  • Python
  • R
  • Ruby
  • Rust
  • Scratch
  • SQL
  • other (please share!)
0 voters

given our collective enthusiasm for building websites, my guess is that javascipt will be the most popular answer, but who knows what the data will show!

in addition to the poll, i’m really interested in hearing about everyone’s first programming experiences.

• why did you choose the programming language you started with?
  • what did you make with it?
  • do you still use it a lot, or do you prefer other languages now?

my first language was R! i’m a researcher, so statistics and graphs are a huge part of what i do. a stats class i took about three years ago taught me the basics of R, which i used to write a script for analyzing qPCR data. i haven’t written anything since, but i still use that script once or twice a week!

1 Like

does AutoHotkey count V:

no but seriously i have had a hard time grokking how programming works on my own in the past, but in the past few years i am slowly getting accustomed to it. if anyone knows of any good free online classes or guided tutorials for python or PHP let me know because i am tempted to learn those!

(also hot take: I think I don’t like how JavaScript works, lol. the syntax is just all over the place and dumb imo :P )